Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Real time Profit and Loss statements

Hello all,
    Newbie here. I'm in Livingston, Texas so I don't expect anyone too close to reply due to competitive reasons but if there's anyone out there that would be willing to discuss deeper details of the business, I would appreicate it.

I would like to be able to study several real working Income/Profit and Loss statements from anyone who would share/email them to me (feel free to black out your business name for privacy sake) so that I can verify the various expense ratios of the self storage business that I've uncovered in research.

I own 7 acres right on I69 in Livingston and it is a prime spot for a nice, large mini storage/boat/RV facility but I want to not only understand the financial numbers in greater detail for planning but also to understand space inventory ratios regarding controlled vs non controlled and what the best sizes in percentage for both controlled and non controlled.

I would also just like to glean as many dos and donts from some of you that have been in the business much longer than I.

Thank you in advance for being willing to share data and experiences.

You can email me at carybaskin@gmail.com.

Thanks!
    Cary

Welcome to the forum carybaskin. You will get some answers to all your questions but may have to wait till Monday for the biggest majority of them. There might be some slow moving groggy heads here tomorrow, after Saint Pat's, but thinking of numbers may hurt a bit till after the weekend.
    "Never let the inmates run the asylum!"

Comment

I would suggest a feasibility study (Bob Copper did mine). If you will be financing the project (I highly recommend Live Oak Bank), it's probably going to be a bank requirement and it will provide most of the information that you will need to evaluate the "opportunity". There are also great pro-forma templates available and Trachte has a nice "Cash Flow Analysis" tool on their website.

Comment