Announcement

Collapse

Holiday Closures

Due to office closures during the 2017 winter holidays, SST membership registration may take longer to process. We'll approve new accounts as promptly as possible. We thank you in advance for your understanding and patience. Happy holidays!
See more
See less

Removing Grease from unit floor

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Removing Grease from unit floor

Hello I'm looking for recommendations on cleaning a unit floor that a car was stored in. This is a concrete floor that had concrete sealer put on when it was poured. It's a combination of grease/oil and we have tried everything to clean it. Has anyone ever used a epoxy floor paint and have any luck? I need to get this cleaned or covered so that the unit will not stink of grease/oil.

Hi! I would recommend kitty litter if you haven't tried that. I have never tried the floor paint before. What about baking soda? I use that on grease stains on my clothes. Different than concrete, but worth a shot!

Comment

Use carb cleaner and/or brake cleaner in a spray can. Get several. Brake cleaner will likely work best and it smells like a dry cleaners store. Works really great for grease/oil in a carpet. The brake clean will evaporate quickly so be ready with a scrub brush and maybe even a metal bristle brush. Carb cleaner will last longer. Ask at an auto parts store. They deal with oil/grease cleaners all the time. From now on, if you know a vehicle is stored, they have to leave a refundable deposit and also have to put something under the vehicle to absorb any problems. If they say no, then they can walk.
      "Never let the inmates run the asylum!"

Comment

We use dawn detergent and cat litter. It works really well.
        Chasing Perfection to catch Excellence

Comment