Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Builder...New to the Industry.

Newbie alert!

I am new to the industry and new to the forum and thought this would be a good place to start to get some good insight on the self storage space.

I am finishing up building a new facility, about 400 units. I have no software and no gate yet. How early should I be looking into this. I am still 3 months out from opening.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Originally posted by Dee's-Storage View Post
    Newbie alert!

I am new to the industry and new to the forum and thought this would be a good place to start to get some good insight on the self storage space.

I am finishing up building a new facility, about 400 units. I have no software and no gate yet. How early should I be looking into this. I am still 3 months out from opening.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.
    Quite frankly, you are already behind the curve on this. Should have had this planned out when you started the facility, not after it's almost built. Depending on what kind of access control and security you wanted to have, you may be looking at having to pay a lot more to get it done now. Is your site already paved or had concrete poured for your entrance area? Did you want to have cameras on the buildings? Door Alarms? Do you have an installer for this already lined up? (some of them have a long waiting list of jobs)

So many questions! I'd recommend that you contact whoever you planned on using and see if it's not too late.

Comment

Welcome! I believe you are a little late. Get on this immediately, it is the most important part of your security!

Comment

We are ordering a new lift gate and it is going to take 90 days just to get the gate let alone having it installed and the new key pads installed. You should get some demos on software ordered to practice with. You just do not learn software over night it takes some practice. You want to be ready to rent up.