Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on dealing with loud music from the neighbor facility

Hi everyone:

Need your advice. I'm a live-in manager. Our facility is located in an industrial part of town. There's a smaller self-storage right next to us. It is quite run-down and the owner (an older man) basically tries to milk it for as long as it lasts. I've had tenants who moved from him tell me that they reported a giant hole in the roof with water dripping down the storage wall and the owner would just tell them to move if they don't like it. So just to show you the situation there.

OK, that facility has a house that was evidently built for the on-site manager. It sits about 200-ft away from my apartment. So the owner of that (run-down) neighbor site evidently leased that house out to someone who is not managing his storage site. From what I understand, just to some guy like an apartment rental.

Well, that guy evidently likes to play his techno music very loud at night. For instance, this last Friday I could still hear subwoofer going in my bedroom at around 2 AM.

This was happening before, and I verbally asked the owner of that site to ask his tenant not to play loud music. He had a strange reaction of joking back by saying, "Oh, you should go join them" or something stupid like that. So I don't think he cares.

So my question. What would you do in this situation?

PS. I know that I'm not in a residential area, so zoning laws about loud music will probably not apply.

I've noticed in many cities, the noise ordinances apply even to the industrial areas. That's where I would start. You should be able to find that info for your city online.
    MamaDuke

Comment

He may have zoning laws about apartment rental. I would ask the police to talk to them.

Comment