Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Operator: Door Maintenance Question

Hi,

First time owner/operator and I am noticing that some of the latches are hard to slide open/close. I have replaced the latches and I have the same issue but I noticed if I apply some downward pressure on the door either from the latch or by stepping on the door handle the latch slides freely. Are the springs pulling the door up with too much force? Is this typical?

Thanks!

Yes very typical. Just explain or show the customer during the move in process. If you don't you will be getting calls that the door is broke.

Comment

Originally posted by evets View Post
      Yes very typical. Just explain or show the customer during the move in process. If you don't you will be getting calls that the door is broke.
      Exactly my issue. People are having trouble with the latch and I need to demonstrate so I was wondering if it was typical or a spring issue as I am new to this. I guess I will include a note in the welcome email. Thanks

Comment

It's pretty typical. We just advise tenants to step on the handle while sliding the hasp over.

Comment

If it really bothers you, get a large vice grip and clamp it to the upper part of the door track hole. You can clamp on and then bend back and forth and it will break off. I would normally clamp about a 1/4 inch at a time until the latch will slide over without stepping on the door.
          Joe Krezdorn
          DAK Self Storage
          Leesport, PA 19533
          www.dakselfstorage.com

Comment