Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Payment plans for Delinquent tenants

Hello all!

I am a new general manager in the storage industry. The previous general manager allowed tenants to get way behind. She would work with the delinquent tenant to come up with a payment plan. This meant that each delinquent tenant had a different payment plan and it was rather difficult for our employees to manage. A little context: we are a U-Haul dealer and a contract postal unit for USPS so we have about 9 employees, most of whom also help in managing storage customer accounts.
    Auctions were not held often and tenants would get months behind. We have some tenants that get 2-3 months behind and then pay up, over and over again. The previous gm's reasoning for these people is that we are still getting paid. While I understand this and I understand wanting to be kind and work with people, we are running a business. I want there to be a cut and dry system so that it is easy to manage. If a tenant isn't paying, we need to get them out and get someone in who will pay.
    I have heard of some storage facilities having a one time payment plan option for tenants who are delinquent. They had to pay a quarter of their rent plus something every single week. The responsibility was totally on the tenant (no reminders sent). If they did not follow that exactly, then they move to public sale.

What do you all do for delinquent tenants as far as payment plans? Any help/advice/input is greatly appreciated.

We no longer accept partial payments on ANYTHING. It makes life so much better. Everything in Lien must be paid with cash, cashiers check or money order only. My life is exponentially much easier.
    "The comeback is always stronger than the setback."
    Mom, Navy Vet, genealogist and voracious reader
    Always sunny in California

Comment