Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rate Management: When should you increase (or decrease) rates?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rate Management: When should you increase (or decrease) rates?

Hi everyone!

I am writing an article on rate management and when you should increase (or decrease) rates. I wanted to get some information from other owners and managers in the industry. So, how do you decide when to change your rates? In addition, when you do increase (or decrease) rates, how do you decide the percentage or dollar value of the change?

Thank you in advance for your help and input; I look forward to reading your responses!
    Alyssa Browning
    Assistant Marketing Director
    Easy Storage Solutions
    alyssa@storageunitsoftware.com
    888-958-5967 ext. 201

www.storageunitsoftware.com

I'm just beginning the rate increase process. There has not been an increase here at my facility since 2012, but, for whatever reason, not all tenants were included. Several that have been here since the 90's have never had one. I did not start working here until late 2013, so this will be my first rate increase. I had a meeting with the boss last week and we decided it was way past time for an increase, and they would like them to be done about every 2 years. We are raising them 15%, and I will still be slightly lower than several facilities near me. I got information from this site suggesting a larger increase at first, followed by smaller ones (6%-8%) thereafter, so that will be my goal.
    The only time I have ever "decreased" a rate was when running a special on a small unit that I had a lot of and wanted to fill them. I cut that rate $10/mth and the tenant will keep that rate as long as they are in the unit. Most of those tenants have either traded up in unit size, or vacated.
    Too many freaks, not enough circuses.

Comment

Thank you DairyGirl! That is great information!
      Alyssa Browning
      Easy Storage Solutions