Self Storage Conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Self Storage Conversion

Hi, I am a Real Estate broker and Investor out of Los Angeles. My family has been in the self storage business for over 30 years with a few local storage facilities. It has been passed down from generation to generation. I am now interested in going my separate way with some partners and get into the self storage conversion business. Recently some partners and I sold an apartment building close to Los Angeles and we will be putting some of the proceeds into this new project. We have located a 33,000 SF 3-story industrial building in Ohio. We are currently traveling and have seen the building and gotten somewhat familiar with the area. We are in heavy discussions with the city who is eager to see us develop this vacant building into self storage. It seems based on the amount of square footage in a 3 mile radius with the 3-mile population, there is a demand for more self storage. Some hesitations we have are that it is a market that we are unfamiliar with and just starting to understand. It is also far from Los Angeles, and we do not know the difficulty it will take to lease up the building. The visibility is also not necessarily the highest visible area, however it is not terrible as you can see it from different angles. We went around with the city planner today and he was showing us a lot of the new multi family development that is happening very close to our building. Additionally a brewery is going in right next door that should help with more traffic and exposure. Everything about the deal looks good, however because I am brand new to the process I am unsure if I am missing anything or if I need to worry about being in a market that I am new to. We would like to buy in California however it is way too expensive for our budget so we have taken this route. Any insight and guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.