Ca Lien Laws for Vehicles and on-site auctions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ca Lien Laws for Vehicles and on-site auctions

Hi all, I recently started managing a Self storage facility in California, and I'm new to the storage business in general. So glad I found this site it has been really helpful, but I do have a couple questions I haven't been able to find answered yet.

First, I have a vehicle(small travel trailer) stored on the property that the owner hasn't paid rent for about 4 months. I have sent the owner a pre-lien notice and a notice of lien sale, like i do for my Units, and i still haven't heard from the owner. I have tried to look up the lien laws for vehicles, but its so confusing! I'm not sure how to proceed. It looks like I need to file an application for Lien sale with the DMV, but i'm not sure if that's what i need to do first... Basically I'm hoping someone know a simple step-by-step process of the procedure. Also, It seems it might be different for a motor-home/boat/or pull behind trailer?

Second question, I have about 6 units ready for auction, just need to run the ad once a week for 2 consecutive weeks. According to the California B&P code the "The sale shall be conducted in a commercially reasonable manner." I'm assuming that means I am not required to have a licensed auctioneer? I cant figure out how to find one if I did. I've seen people mention having all those in attendance to the auction sign in and get copies of the drivers licence. Does anyone have any advice as to what the sign in sheet should have on it (like a disclaimer/hold harmless etc)? Also, Does it have to be an auction? Can I pick through the unit and sell it garage sale style? And if I do, Do I still have to run an ad in the paper?

Any help appreciated