SC UCC Filing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SC UCC Filing

I'm new to operating in SC; reading the lien laws and preparing for our first auction. The SSA recommended that we do a lien search when the tenant is 20 days past due.
    When I went to the SC UCC website, there were fees listed for conducting this search. Is there away around this fee, or am I stuck paying this?

thanks!

The only reason I would do a lien search is if you know there is a vehicle of some sort in a unit or in an outdoor spot that has a VIN number on it. I would not care if there is a mattress in the unit that the tenant still owes money on. Have you looked inside the auction units? If not, you should, and document the lock cut procedure with pics and a witness, preferably a video of it all.

Comment

I'm new to operating in SC; reading the lien laws and preparing for our first auction. The SSA recommended that we do a lien search when the tenant is 20 days past due.
      When I went to the SC UCC website, there were fees listed for conducting this search. Is there away around this fee, or am I stuck paying this?

Law in AZ as well to do the UCC search before auction, we do not have to pay... I looked up in SC, looks like you have to pay a little, You can add it to your fees at the end of auction... IF YOU GET ENOUGH. Guess if not your just out the few $$

We always do it 10 days before auction, maybe the people will pay and don't have to do it. Lien on a car we take VIN info to MVD and they give us lien info there. that's how we do it in AZ.

Comment

Have you cut the lock and confirmed that there is a motor vehicle inside the unit?

There is no need to do a lien search if there is NO car!
        Don't put off until tomorrow, what you can do today.

Comment

Originally posted by lady5563 View Post
          Have you cut the lock and confirmed that there is a motor vehicle inside the unit?

There is no need to do a lien search if there is NO car!