Announcement

Collapse

New Membership Approvals

Happy holidays! We're thrilled you want to be a part of Self-Storage Talk. Please be patient with us as the registration make take longer to process during this joyful time of year. We'll approve new accounts as promptly as possible. We thank you in advance for your understanding.
See more
See less

new in SC, boat, camper and RV storage questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new in SC, boat, camper and RV storage questions

I am currently developing extra land I have at my current business to have secure storage for boats, rv, campers, etc.. I have zero experience in the storage industry but have a few friends whose family have storage units. How do I get contracts for my customers to sign? should I have a attorney draft some or is there a website you can purchase them? I also want to offer a power hookup for customers at a added cost. what would be the most used amp service? 15,20, 30 amp? eventually we would like to add covered storage and also regular storage units on the property but just need to get the money to do so. please offer any other suggestions for a newbie. thanks
    Last edited by brndnusc83; 10th July 2018, 11:49 AM.

At my facility, we have 48 covered spaces and we offer 20 amp service (at additional charge) for maintaining batteries, etc. You will receive numerous requests for higher amperage service, but it is my opinion that you should limit it to 20 amps. You are operating a storage facility... not a campground.

If you do decide to provide higher amperage service, you need to install individual meters and charge by usage.

Comment

Thanks for the reply mark. So how much extra do you charge? another storage facility does a 15 amp and a 30 amp and charges a flat rate of $20 per month and $30 per month. is this something that seems to be worth the extra investment or no? thanks again

Comment