Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking advice for new facility

Hello,

I am new to the self storage business, and appreciate all the advice thus far! I have building a new facility with 100 drive up units of varying sizes. I have two initial questions if I could ask some advice?

1. Should I allow the storage of vehicles (cars, motorcycles) inside units? Pros/Cons?

2. Should I use a self-service kiosk for rentals? My rental software (ESS) has a nice online rental portal, but just wanted some opinions?

Thank you in advance!

Mike

I store boats, auto, motorcycles. I also have a clause in my contract about storing gasoline.

Good Luck on new adventures

Comment

Most facilities allow vehicle storage. Issues to be aware of:
      - Lien/auction process is different for property with a title. Laws vary by state but you should be familiar with them to ensure you are collecting the correct information up front.
      - Leaks... if it's got oil in it, there is a good chance some is going to leak out. I ask my tenants to place a pan under older vehicles, and I try and make a point of putting vehicles in units that I know have a stained floor already when possible. People moving furniture don't want a grease stained floor.

Whether or not to use a kiosk really depends on how you manage it, and what the expectation is in your community. For a small facility such as yours, the kiosk hardware and service costs may not make sense. But it's a good idea to have a master plan that includes it so that as you grow, you'll have a traffic pattern that will support it. I did not put in a kiosk at my facility in the first two phases (163 units total now) but I am adding a gate, fence and kiosk with my 125 unit expansion. You need to plan out the kiosk and gate so that potential renters can stop outside the secure area and rent a unit, and also so that they can turn around and leave (even with a uhaul) if they pull in and don't rent.

Comment