Lease Agreements

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lease Agreements

I am new to the industry and have just taken over the position of property manager. There are several of our tenants that have never signed lease agreements with the previous owners. How do we go about getting them to come in and sign a lease agreement now?

Call them if you have numbers, or you can overlock the units and they'll have to stop by...
    AmyLou

Comment

Send a message via every means you have on them-phone, email, text or postal mail. Overlock their units and if you have a code, lock that out as well-and post a notice on their unit with a note in the envelope stating, "Hi Tenant! We're happy that you're renting with us at Happy Happy Self Storage (or whatever your storage co. name is..lol). Please stop by the office as soon as possible-thanks, Management!
      When I had all of my ducks in a row-I realized that most of them were not even mine!

WA State

Comment

You may have to bribe them to do so. Like a $10 or $5 a month credit on the next rent to get them to show up. Some will want you to mail the lease to them. DO NOT DO THAT! They will read them and then cross things out and change wording. Must be at the facility. If they say they are living elsewhere, then they can have a friend come in and sign by proxy for them after that friend shows you a notarized affirmative agreement that allows them to sign on their behalf. If all the recommendations from above and my recommendation does not work, then send "Tony and his boys" to convince them to show up.
        "Never let the inmates run the asylum!"

Comment