Newbie Here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Here

Hello! I'm so glad I found this forum! Because I need help! My husband and I are Real Estate Investors and we came upon a 4-plex that came with a very small storage unit, 15 to be exact. Now we have a Property Management that will manage the 4-plex, and we decided to manage the storage. Now, we are VERY new to self storage and I have no idea what I'm doing. And I need you expert people!

Now when we took over the property, I sent out text msgs to all the tenant about the new management/owner. 5 tenants paid their May rent and I'm still waiting for the rest. What should be my next step?!? Please help. I'm located in DFW (Texas) area. Should I have everyone sign a new lease agreement? The previous owners didn't give me any lease agreement and everyone sent him cash or check to his house. I'm trying to do everything online to make it easier for everyone.

Thanks in advance, Jen

Hi Jen,

Welcome to the forums and self-storage! The very first thing I would do is contact your local self-storage association and luckily the Texas SSA is amazing because:

1. They can really help with some of those operational questions like if you would need new leases signed (I don't believe so though)
    2. The TSSA has online lease forms that integrate with most major self storage software providers that you can use. They recently moved away from Blue Moon forms so at least you don't have to worry about that transition. You can find information on the TSSA Forms Online here.

As far as collecting rent for May, I'm going to leave that to operators and/or the TSSA to answer since there's a wide spectrum of answers to that due to the covid-19 coronavirus.