Hi From MN, where do I start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi From MN, where do I start?

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to Storage but I'd love to get started. Any advice on where to start looking for the basics? I'm a somewhat experienced real estate investor, having bought and sold about 20 parcels of vacant land since 2018. I'm thinking storage might be a great way to replace my 9-5 income along with land income but not sure how to get started. I've read about maybe finding an existing small storage business and buying that to then improve and modernize but again I've only scratched the surface. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!
    -Wilford

Hi Wilford,

Welcome to the self-storage industry and the forums! The best resource to start with (besides here ) is going to be your local self-storage association. It's a great time to get started into educational opportunities as well since March is generally the start of the state and national conferences.

The Inside Self Storage World Expo was pushed back a little later this year, but I would definitely try to at least attend virtually along with any other virtual events.
    Last edited by Kevin SC; 8 February 2021, 02:46 PM.
    Kevin Kerr
    Storage Commander Cloud Software
    k[email protected]
    Toll Free: 877.672.6257
    Direct: 951.867.4732

Comment

Welcome from CT

Comment

Welcome to the forum from Oregon.

Comment

Welcome! Here's a a video on getting started in self-storage... lots of good info here. Or course i am biased i was behind the camera.
          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQFRVL4VUdY&t=8s

Comment

Welcome from PA
            Joe Krezdorn
            DAK Self Storage
            Leesport, PA 19533
            www.dakselfstorage.com

Comment

Welcome from Alaska

Comment

Welcome from INDIANA

Comment

Welcome from WA state. Not as cold as Minnesota, for sure.
                  "The comeback is always stronger than the setback."