Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I've been accused of doing two "highly inappropriate" things today . . .

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've been accused of doing two "highly inappropriate" things today . . .

I'll try to summarize as best I can. I've been teaching elementary-age children's church for nearly 20 years now, 15 of those at my current church. Back in 2006 at the beginning of the year, I took a short video of the kids in my class, going around the room asking them their first name and favorite animal. This video was to help me learn their names in a fun, memorable way. I never showed the video until anyone until last night when I posted an unlisted YouTube video link of it on our church's private Facebook group and tagged all the kids (now adults) and their parents. I thought it would be a neat thing to share from all those years ago and that they'd get a kick out of it and some great memories. And that's precisely the response I got from a lot of people!

However, this afternoon I got a private Facebook message from one of the parents who said it was highly inappropriate of me to 1. post that video AND 2. to have even made the video in the first place without parental consent. I responded to him clarifying that the group AND video were private (an unlisted YouTube video can only be viewed by people who have the link - you can't find it by searching for it) and that the kids were all now adults. I also responded that if pictures/videos without parental consent were a problem for private use, then the church directory should be a bigger concern (entire family pictures, last names, addresses, etc.). Now, my actual message was longer than that and more diplomatic - I'm just summarizing my main points here.